



# Pharmacist Renewal to Begin in Mid-July

## **Renewal Process**

License renewal will begin in mid-July. More information will be sent out as the date approaches. Renewal applications cannot be submitted before that date. Any license renewed after the expiration date of **September 15, 2021** will be assessed a late fee.

## **Renewal Fees**

Pharmacist licenses have transitioned to a biennial (two-year) cycle. All licenses that are successfully renewed will receive a two-year license with an expiration date of **September 15, 2023**.

The biennial renewal fee for a pharmacist license is **\$250.00** and the eLicense System Transaction Fee of \$3.50\*. All renewal fees must be paid via Visa, Discover or MasterCard.

\*The eLicense System Transaction Fee will be assessed on each license that is renewed in the eLicense Ohio system operated by the Ohio Department of Administrative Services. Licensing boards and commissions do not receive revenue from this fee. The transaction fee is nonrefundable.

**Reminder:** Recent changes to Ohio law eliminated the need for the issuance of a pharmacist identification card (i.e., pocket card). Pharmacists may verify their renewed license at <a href="http://www.elicense.ohio.gov/oh">www.elicense.ohio.gov/oh</a> verifylicense.

## **2021 Continuing Education Reporting Requirements**

<u>Rule 4729:1-5-02</u> of the Ohio Administrative Code updates the required minimum continuing education units (CEUs) pharmacists are required to obtain and aligns the reporting period to the biennial renewal cycle.

Specifically, pharmacists are required to obtain a minimum of 4.0 CEUs (40 hours) every two years prior to license renewal. Please refer to the chart on the next page for hours required for the 2021 reporting period.

The following provides an overview of the Board's continuing education requirements:

- Any format (live, home study) is acceptable
- Minimum 40 hours (4 CEUs) total, which must include:
  - Minimum 2 hours medication errors/patient safety (ACPE -05)
  - Minimum 2 hours jurisprudence or law (ACPE -03) or Ohio Board of Pharmacy Approved Jurisprudence
  - NOTE: Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision
    of volunteer healthcare services) are accepted. Some examples of courses that are not
    accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education
    (CLE).

**IMPORTANT:** Ohio-licensed pharmacists who hold a current license in states where continuing education is mandatory, have met the continuing pharmacy education requirements of that state, and who have not practiced pharmacy in Ohio <u>at any time</u> during the two years prior to the renewal date in which a pharmacist's license must be renewed, may renew their license without having to comply with the continuing education requirements.

Continuing education may be obtained from any of the following providers:

- An ACPE (Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education) continuing education provider;
- An approved in-state provider of pharmacy jurisprudence programs; or
- An approved in-state provider of volunteer healthcare services.

• **NOTE:** Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision of volunteer healthcare services) are accepted. Some examples of courses that are not accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education (CLE).

Please review the continuing education guidance document, <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/CE</u> for more information.

If you have any questions about these changes, please contact the Board via email at <u>contact@pharmacy.ohio.gov</u>.

### 2021 Virtual Law Reviews and Responsible Person Roundtables

Join the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy for a presentation to learn about the latest developments in pharmacy law and rules.

Law Review topics will include:

- New requirements for terminal distributors of dangerous drugs
- New outpatient pharmacy rules and inspection guide
- State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy COVID-19 response efforts
- Pharmacy compounding rules & implementation plan

Responsible Person Roundtable topics will include:

- Duties of a responsible person
- General provisions applicable to a terminal distributor of dangerous drugs
- Duty to report requirements
- Additional compliance resources

More information and registration instructions can be found on the Board's <u>continuing education</u> <u>webpage</u>.

### Free Online Law Quiz

The Board also offers a free online law CE quiz that provides one hour (0.1 CEU) of Board-approved jurisprudence continuing education. More information on the quiz can be found on the Board's <u>continuing education webpage</u>.

#### Board of Pharmacy Now Accepting Applications for Pharmacist Workload Advisory Committee

On April 20, 2021, the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy approved the formation of a Pharmacist Workload Advisory Committee (PWAC). The formation of the committee is in response to the release of a July 2020 workload survey conducted by the Board (<u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/workload</u>).

The purpose of the advisory committee is to promote patient safety and compliance with Ohio laws and rules by analyzing survey and other data and make recommendations to the Board to address pharmacist working conditions. PWAC recommendations may include changes to Board of Pharmacy rules as well as statutory changes. As indicated in the resolution creating the committee (see: <a href="https://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/workload">www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/workload</a>), the Board is seeking to appoint two Ohio-licensed pharmacist members and one Ohio-certified pharmacy technician.

To be considered for an appointment, all interested applicants must submit a completed application no later than **June 4, 2021**. Submission instructions are included in the application, which can be accessed here: <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/PWACapp</u>. The committee will have regular monthly meetings that last up to 2-3 hours so please consider this time commitment when preparing your application.