

Registered Pharmacy Technician Renewal Deadline Extended to July 1, 2021

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, the Ohio General Assembly passed HB 404 which requires all licenses/registrations to be extended until July 1, 2021. **Registered pharmacy technicians** who have not yet renewed have until July 1, 2021 to renew as well as complete continuing education requirements. Any registration renewed after the expiration date of July 1, 2021 will be assessed a late fee. (NOTE: Prior to this law change, the date had been previously extended to December 1, 2020).

This notice provides instructions on how registered technicians should complete their renewal application and information on continuing education requirements.

A helpful step-by-step guide with information on how to renew can be found here: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/techrenewalguide.

IMPORTANT: If a registered pharmacy technician has obtained a national certification (ExCPT or PTCB), they can apply as a certified pharmacy technician. A registered pharmacy technician who obtains registration as a certified pharmacy technician prior to the expiration of their current registration will not be required to renew.

A technician must submit a new application and fee to obtain a certified pharmacy technician registration. Submission of a certification will not update an individual's registration to a certified pharmacy technician.

eLicense Guidance

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy transitioned to the State's new licensing system on April 23, 2018. As part of the transition, individuals will be required to register for an account to renew and manage their Ohio pharmacy technician registration.

Individuals who already have an account but forgot their password may reset the password by selecting "Forgot your password?" link on the <u>eLicense login page</u>. A password reset link will be emailed to you. The link expires after 24 hours, so be sure to reset your password as soon as possible.

Individuals who already have an account but have not logged on in the last 12 months may be required to reset their password. Follow the on-screen instructions to reset your password.

It is highly recommended to use Google Chrome to access eLicense Ohio and when submitting a renewal application.

For step-by-step guidance on how to register for an account on the eLicense site, visit: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/elicenseinstruct.

For assistance registering for an account or resetting a password in eLicense Ohio, please contact the eLicense Customer Service Center, which can be reached by calling 855-405-5514.

The eLicense Customer Service Centers serves all Ohio Boards and Commissions licensees and applicants. Callers may experience hold times or delays during overlapping renewal cycles across the state's Boards and Commissions.

Fees

The biennial licensing fee to renew a registered pharmacy technician registration is \$50.00 plus a \$3.50 eLicense system transaction fee. Any registrant who does not renew by the deadline of **July**

1, 2021 will be assessed an additional \$50.00 late fee.

All payments must be made with Visa, MasterCard, or Discover via eLicense Ohio.

Employment

Registered pharmacy technicians are required to maintain updated employment information with the Board pursuant to <u>OAC 4729:3-2-04</u>.

To view the employment information on file with the Board, a registrant can select **Manage Affiliations** from their license tile in eLicense.

Instructions and a step-by-step guide on how to update the information can be found here.

Legal and Disciplinary Question Guidance

All registered pharmacy technicians will be required to answer legal and disciplinary action questions on the renewal application. The Board has developed a guidance document to assist registrants in answering these questions, which can be accessed here.

Continuing Education

As part of the renewal process, a registered pharmacy technician will be required to complete a total of **ten contact hours** (1.0 CEUs) of continuing pharmacy education between April 1, 2018 to July 1, 2021. Any format (live, home study) is acceptable.

Continuing pharmacy education should be in pharmacy technician-specific subject matter and shall include the following:

- **Two contact hours** (0.2 CEUs) of continuing pharmacy education in the subject of pharmacy jurisprudence (law). The topic designator will end in "03"; and
- **Two contact hours** (0.2 CEUs) of continuing pharmacy education in the subject of patient or medication safety. The topic designator will end in "05".

As a reminder, the Board has two online quizzes for registered technicians to receive Board-approved pharmacy jurisprudence (law) continuing education:

- 2020 CPE Quiz (0.1 CEU of jurisprudence)
- Outpatient Pharmacy Inspection Guide Review Quiz (0.1 CEU of jurisprudence)

Additionally, a registered pharmacy technician may satisfy up to one-third of the technician's continuing education requirements by providing health care services as a volunteer in accordance with 4745.04 of the Revised Code.

All registered pharmacy technicians must obtain a **free CPE monitor account** from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. This account will be used to report and monitor the successful completion of ACPE approved continuing pharmacy education.

The Board has also created a guidance document that can be found here.

What documentation is needed to report continuing education?

Continuing pharmacy education earned from an ACPE approved provider will be reported directly to CPE Monitor.

Rule 4729:3-5-02 requires registered pharmacy technicians to keep all certificates and other documented evidence of participation which have been issued by a non-ACPE accredited provider (i.e. in-state providers or pharmacy jurisprudence or volunteer healthcare services) for which the pharmacy technician has claimed continuing education units towards renewal of the technician's registration for a period of one year following the year in which evidence was required for renewal.

NOTE: The Board will be conducting audits of registered technicians to determine if continuing education requirements have been met. Certificates and other documented evidence of participation only need to be submitted to the Board when requested.