

E-News Update February 2020

2020 Law Review Presentation

To assist pharmacists in fulfilling a portion of their required continuing education, the Board offers law review presentations across the state. The topics covered this year include:

- New rules for pharmacists
- Duty to report
- Consult agreements controlled substances prescribing
- New requirements for terminal distributors of dangerous drugs
- New outpatient pharmacy rules and inspection guides

These law review presentations are available for pharmacists, pharmacy interns, registered or certified pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy compliance staff employed in outpatient/community-based pharmacies. The law review presentation qualifies for 2 hours (0.2 CEU) of State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy approved jurisprudence continuing education.

For more information on the law review presentations, including how to register, visit: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Law2020

2020 Pharmacy Responsible Person - Law Review Presentations

New this year, the Board will be offering law review presentations specifically for pharmacists that are currently serving as the responsible person for an Ohio pharmacy license. These presentations will cover:

- Duty to report requirements
- Responsible person requirements and responsibilities
- Required notification to the Board
- Recordkeeping
- Security and storage of drugs
- Purchase and sales of drugs
- Technician roles and responsibilities
- Interns roles and responsibilities, including the responsibilities of preceptors
- Upcoming rule changes

For more information on the responsible person presentations, including how to register, visit: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/RP2020

The RP law review presentation qualifies for 2 hours (0.2 CEU) of State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy approved jurisprudence continuing education.

2020 Annual CE Quiz

Another opportunity for continuing education is the annual CE quiz. The quiz provides one contact (0.1 CEU) of State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy approved jurisprudence continuing education. The content for the quiz was collected from the quarterly newsletters, including any links to guidance documents or rules which were embedded in the links.

The annual CE quiz can be accessed by visiting: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/2020quiz

Information on Coronavirus

The Ohio Department of Health (ODH), in coordination with the Centers for Disease Control and

Prevention (CDC) and local partners, is closely monitoring the 2019 coronavirus (2019-nCoV) first identified in the Wuhan City, Hubei Province, China.

According to ODH, as of 2/27/20 there are 0 confirmed cases in Ohio nor anyone currently under investigation for the virus.

Resources for Health Care Workers can be found here.

Reminder: Pharmacy Technician Renewal

Registered pharmacy technician renewal will began on January 31, 2020. As part of the renewal process, a registered pharmacy technician will be required to complete a total of **ten contact hours** (1.0 CEUs) of continuing pharmacy education during the 24 months preceding the expiration date of a registered technician's registration (i.e. April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2020).

It's important that registered pharmacy technicians maintain their registration and complete their required continuing education. By failing to renew a registration, both the registered pharmacy technician and the pharmacy may face administrative action if the employee continues to practice as a technician. The Board will be conducting audits of registered pharmacy technicians to determine if continuing education requirements have been met. Certificates and other documented evidence of participation only need to be submitted to the Board when requested.

All registered pharmacy technicians must obtain a free CPE monitor account from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. This account will be used to report and monitor the successful completion of ACPE approved continuing pharmacy education.

The Board has also created a guidance document that can be found by visiting: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/techCE

Starting in January 2020, the Board will begin verifying certified technicians have a valid ExCPT or PTCB certification. A certified technician must meet the continuing education requirements for their pharmacy technician certification (ExCPT or PTCB). Any certified technician who holds a valid certification is not required to complete the ten contact hours that is required for a registered pharmacy technician. Failure to maintain an ExCPT or PTCB certification may result in disciplinary action by the Board. Therefore, all Ohio certified technicians should make sure they have valid certifications prior to January 2020. If a certified pharmacy technician no longer wishes to maintain their ExCPT or PTCB certification, the applicant will be required to re-apply as a registered pharmacy technician.

Reminder: Non-Pharmacy Terminal Distributor Rules Effective March 1, 2020

Effective March 1, 2020, the following terminal distributor rule chapters go into effect:

- Pain Management Clinics 4729:5-11
- First Aid Departments 4729:5-13
- Animal Shelters 4729:5-15
- Laboratories 4729:5-16
- Office-Based Opioid Treatment Facilities 4729:5-18
- Clinics and Prescriber Offices 4729:5-19
- Veterinary Clinics 4729:5-20
- Opioid Treatment Programs 4729:5-21
- Non-limited Facilities 4729:5-22
- Limited Facilities 4729:5-23

REMINDER: The above rule chapters **do not apply** to pharmacies, EMS agencies, drug distributors (wholesalers, manufacturers, etc.), and institutional facilities.

To assist licensees in complying with the new rule chapters, the Board recently published inspection guides for each license type. The inspection guides align with internal guidance used by Board inspectors and allow licensee to conduct self-inspections to ensure compliance.

Guides also include links to the new rule chapters, important definitions, and reminders of when a licensee is required to submit notification or additional information to the Board.

The guides are available on the <u>terminal distributor licensing page</u> and can also be accessed using the short links below:

- Pain Management Clinics www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/PMCinspect
- First Aid Departments <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/FAinspect</u>
- Animal Shelters www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/ASinspect
- Laboratories <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/LABinspect</u>
- Office-Based Opioid Treatment Facilities www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/OBOTinspect
- Clinics and Prescriber Offices www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/CPOinspect

- Veterinary Clinics www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/VETinspect
- Opioid Treatment Programs www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/OTPinspect
- Non-limited Facilities <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/NLFinspect</u>
 Limited Facilities <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/LFinspect</u>

Additional guides for other license types (pharmacies, EMS, institutional, etc.) will be published this year.