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Pharmacist Renewal to Begin on July 17th

Renewal Process

License renewal will begin on Wednesday, July 17, 2019. An email notification will be sent out
to pharmacists on July 17th indicating their license can be renewed. Renewal applications cannot
be submitted before that date. Any license renewed after the expiration date of September 15,
2019 will be assessed a late fee.

eLicense Ohio

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy transitioned to the State’s new licensing system on April 23,
2018. As part of the transition, licensees will be required to register for an account to renew and
manage their Ohio pharmacist license. Therefore, you are encouraged to renew your license as
soon as possible.

Individuals who already have an account but forgot their password may reset the password by
selecting "Forgot your password?". A password reset link will be emailed to you. The link expires
after 24 hours, so be sure to reset your password as soon as possible.

Individuals who already have an account but have not logged on in the last 12 months may be
required to reset their password. Follow the on-screen instructions to reset your password.

It is highly recommended to use Google Chrome to access elLicense Ohio and when
submitting the renewal application.

For step-by-step guidance on how to register for an account on the elicense site,
visit: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/elicenseinstruct.

For assistance registering for an account or resetting a password in eLicense Ohio, please contact
the eLicense Customer Service Center, which can be reached by calling 855-405-5514.

The eLicense Customer Service Centers serves all Ohio Boards and Commissions licensees and applicants.
Callers may experience hold times or delays during overlapping renewal cycles across the state's Boards and
Commissions.

Renewal Fees

Effective for the 2019 renewal, pharmacist licenses will transition to a biennial (two-year) cycle.
All licenses that are successfully renewed will receive a two-year license with an expiration date
of September 15, 2021.

The biennial renewal fee for a pharmacist license is $250.00 and the eLicense System
Transaction Fee of $3.50*. All renewal fees must be paid via Visa, Discover or MasterCard.

*The elLicense System Transaction Fee will be assessed on each license that is renewed in the eLicense
Ohio system operated by the Ohio Department of Administrative Services. Licensing boards and
commissions do not receive revenue from this fee. The transaction fee is nonrefundable.

Reminder: Recent changes to Ohio law eliminated the need for the issuance of a pharmacist
identification card (i.e. pocket card). Pharmacists may verify their renewed license at
www.elicense.ohio.gov/oh verifylicense.

2019 Continuing Education Reporting Requirements
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To facilitate the move to a biennial renewal cycle, the 2019 continuing education requirements
have been updated. For the 2019 reporting cycle ONLY the requirements are as follows:

e License numbers (03-1-XXXXX) will report a total of 60 hours of CEUs earned between
September 16, 2016 and September 15, 2019. Must include 3 hours in pharmacy law and
2 hours in patient or medication safety.

e License numbers (03-2-XXXXX) will report a total of 40 hours of CEUs earned between
September 16, 2017 and September 15, 2019. Must include 2 hours in pharmacy law and
1 hour in patient or medication safety.

e License numbers (03-3-XXXXX) will report a total of 20 hours of CEUs earned between
September 15, 2018 and September 15, 2019. Must include 1 hour in pharmacy law and 1
hour in patient or medication safety.

e License numbers (03-4-XXXXX) issued between September 16, 2018 and April 30, 2019
will report a total of 20 hours of CEUs earned between date of licensure and September
15, 2019. Must include 1 hour in pharmacy law and 1 hour in patient or medication safety.

e License numbers (03-4-XXXXX) issued between May 1, 2019 and September 15, 2019 will
not be required to report CEUs.

Pharmacists who meet the continuing education requirements via a pharmacy practice specific
specialty certification (list available here), are still required to obtain the required CEUs in
pharmacy law and patient or medication safety listed above.

IMPORTANT: Ohio-licensed pharmacists who hold a current license in states where continuing
education is mandatory, have met the continuing pharmacy education requirements of that state,
and who have not practiced pharmacy in Ohio at any time during the two years prior to the
renewal date in which a pharmacist's license must be renewed, may renew their license without
having to comply with the continuing education requirements.

Continuing education may be obtained from any of the following providers:

An ACPE (Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education) continuing education provider;
An approved in-state provider of pharmacy jurisprudence programs; or

An approved in-state provider of volunteer healthcare services.

NOTE: Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision of
volunteer healthcare services) are accepted. Some examples of courses that are not
accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education (CLE).

Please review the continuing education guidance document, www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/CE for
more information.

If you have any questions about these changes, please contact the Board via email at
contact@pharmacy.ohio.gov.

2019 Law Presentations

The Board offers a law review presentation to learn about the latest developments in pharmacy
laws and rules. Presentations take place across the state. Space is limited so early registration is
recommended. The law review presentation qualifies for four hours (0.4 CEUs) of Board-
approved jurisprudence continuing education. More information and registration instructions can
be found on the Board’s continuing education webpage.

Free Online Law Quiz

The Board also offers a free online law CE quiz that provides one hour (0.1 CEU) of Board-
approved jurisprudence continuing education. More information on the quiz can be found on the
Board’s continuing education webpage.

Cultural Competency Continuing Education

The Board would like to remind pharmacists of the importance of cultural competency in the
practice of pharmacy. Cultural competency can foster a greater understanding and appreciation
of diverse patient populations, giving pharmacy professionals additional information and insight to
enrich patient care. The Board has developed a guidance document to help locate CE
opportunities in cultural competency, which can be accessed by visiting:
www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/cultural.
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