

September E-News Update

PHARMAC

Changes to Pharmacist Continuing Education (CE) Reporting Requirements

Effective September 16, 2018, rule <u>4729:1-5-02</u> of the Ohio Administrative Code updates the required minimum continuing education units (CEUs) pharmacists are required to obtain and aligns the reporting period to the biennial renewal cycle.

Specifically, pharmacists are required to obtain a minimum of 4.0 CEUs (40 hours) every two years prior to license renewal. Every pharmacist, no matter the license number, will be on the same reporting cycle beginning with the 2019 renewal.

The following provides a quick overview of the Board's continuing education requirements:

- Any format (live, home study) is acceptable
- Minimum 40 hours (4 CEUs) total, which must include:
 - Minimum 2 hours medication errors/patient safety (ACPE -05)
 - Minimum 2 hours jurisprudence or law (ACPE -03) or Ohio Board of Pharmacy Approved Jurisprudence

NOTE: Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision of volunteer healthcare services) are accepted. Some examples of courses that are not accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education (CLE).

IMPORTANT: Any CE credit which was already granted prior to September 16, 2018 will still be accepted by the Board.

More information including Continuing Education Requirements by Reporting Cycle can be found by visiting <u>www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/CE</u>.

Changes to Reporting Suspected Elder Abuse In Ohio

Effective September 29, 2018, section 5101.63 of the Revised Code will significantly expand the list of individuals mandated to report suspected elder abuse in Ohio.

The new individuals <u>mandated</u> to report suspected elder abuse in Ohio will now include:

- Pharmacists
- Employees of the following:
 - home health agency, outpatient health facility, hospital, nursing home, residential care facility, health department, community mental health agency, fire department, emergency medical services organizations, coroner, and county humane society.

The full list of who is required to report can be found in ORC 5101.63.

To support these individuals in their new responsibilities, the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) developed training materials on identifying and reporting elder abuse, specifically for medical professionals and a general guide for Ohioans.

Understanding Elder Abuse: A Guide for Medical Professionals can be found here.

Ohio Mental Health and Addiction Services Waiver Training

Ohio MHAS is offering ASAM/Ohio Waiver Training across the state. The curriculum for this course has been specifically designed for Ohio licensed physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants.

Upcoming training includes:

- October 3rd and 4th: OSU Wexner Medical Center, Columbus
- October 18th and 20th: Shepherd Hill, Newark
- October 26th and 27th: MH & R Board of Clark, Greene, and Madison Counties, Fairborn

More information can be found <u>here.</u>

2nd and 3rd Quarter Rule Update

The Board has posted a 2nd and 3rd Quarter rule update guidance document, which can be found <u>here</u>.

Additionally, anyone can subscribe to the Board's website updates here.