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WHEN TO CHECK OARRS - PHARMACISTS

Per OAC 4729:5-5-08, prior to dispensing an outpatient prescription for a
controlled substance or a drug containing gabapentin, at a minimum, a
pharmacist shall request and review an OARRS report covering at least a one
year time period in any of the following circumstances:

RULE 1: A patient adds a new or different controlled
substance or a drug containing gabapentin to the
patient’s therapy that was not previously included.

RULE 2: An OARRS report has not been reviewed
for that patient during the preceding 12 months,
as indicated in the patient profile.

pharmacy geographic area.

RULE 4: A patient is from outside the usual
pharmacy geographic area.

RULE 5: A pharmacist has reason to believe the patient
has received prescriptions for controlled substances
or a drug containing gabapentin from more than one
prescriber in the preceding three months, unless the
prescriptions are from prescribers who practice at the
same physical location (i.e. same group practice).

@ RULE 3: A prescriber is located outside the usual

RULE 6: Patient is exhibiting signs of potential abuse

or diversion. This includes, but is not limited to, over-
utilization, early refills, appears overly sedated or
intoxicated upon presenting a prescription for a reported
drug, or an unfamiliar patient requesting a reported drug
by specific name, street name, color, or identifying marks.
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Remember: To be valid, a prescription must be issued for a legitimate
medical purpose by a prescriber acting in the usual course of their
practice. The responsibility for the proper prescribing is upon the
prescriber; however, a corresponding responsibility also rests with
the pharmacist who dispenses the prescription. Pharmacists shall
use professional judgment when making a determination about the
legitimacy of a prescription.

A pharmacist shall not dispense a prescription of doubtful, questionable,
or suspicious origin [OAC 4729:5-5-08 (G), 4729:5-5-10 (A), & 4729:5-5-15
(A)].

It’s OK to say no. You might just save a life.
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WHEN TO CHECK OARRS-PRESCRIBERS

Ohio Law:

Before initially prescribing or personally furnishing
an opioid analgesic or a benzodiazepine to a
patient, the prescriber must request patient
information from OARRS that covers at least the
previous 12 months.

Follow-up OARRS reports should be
obtained:

® Thedrugis prescribed or personally furnished to a hospice
patient or to any other patient who has been diagnosed as
terminally ill (applies to APRN, PA, MD, and DO).

® Thedrugis prescribed or personally furnished in an amount
indicated for a period not to exceed seven days (applies to
all prescribers).

® Thedrugis prescribed or personally furnished for the
treatment of cancer or another condition associated with
cancer (applies to APRN, PA, MD, and DO).

® Thedrugis administered in a hospital, nursing home, or
residential care facility (applies to APRN, PA, MD, and DO).

® Thedrugis prescribed or personally furnished to treat acute
pain resulting from a surgical or other invasive procedure or
a delivery (applies to physicians only).

® The OARRS report is not available (applies to all
prescribers).

Ohio Regulations

Ohio’s health care regulatory boards have also
adopted regulations on when an OARRS report must be
requested:

Medical Board Rules: 4731-11-11, 4731-33-02, 4730-2-10
& 4730-4-02

Nursing Board Rules: 4723-9-12,4723-9-13

Dental Board Rule: 4715-6-01
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