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IMPORTANT NOTICE: On or before June 30, 2022, all licensed home
medical equipment service providers located outside of Ohio are
required to obtain registration (i.e. obtain national accreditation) as a
HME service provider [OAC 4729:11-2-01 (H)].

The requirements listed in this inspection guide are effective on
December 15, 2019.

This document is reference material for licensees, registrants,
and applicants. The document does not bind the State of Ohio
Board of Pharmacy, and does not confer any rights, privileges,
benefits, or immunities for or on any person, applicant, licensee
or registrant.


https://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Documents/Licensing/HME/Licensing/Recognition%20of%20National%20Accrediting%20Bodies%20for%20Home%20Medical%20Equipment.pdf
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/pdfs/4729/11/2/4729$11-2-01_PH_FF_N_RU_20191112_1531.pdf

Applicability

This guide applies only to locations licensed as home medical equipment service providers pursuant
to section 4752.02 of the Ohio Revised Code.

Inspection Authority

Pursuant to section 4752.08 of the Revised Code and rule 4729:11-3-03 of the Administrative
Code, an entity licensed or registered by the State Board of Pharmacy as home medical equipment
services provider is subject to an on-site inspection by the Board. An authorized Board agent may,
without notice, carry out an on-site inspection or investigation of an entity licensed or registered by
the Board.

Upon verification of the Board agent's credentials, the agent shall be permitted to enter the
licensed or registered entity.

Submission of an application for a license or registration as a HME services provider with the State
Board of Pharmacy constitutes permission for entry and on-site inspection by an authorized Board
agent.

After the completion of the inspection, the authorized Board agent will provide an inspection report
for review and any corrective actions required. If the inspection report requires a written response,
responses must be mailed within 30 days of the inspection to writtenresponse@pharmacy.ohio.gov.

Applicable Rules

The following provides a general list of rules that apply to home medical equipment service
providers:

4729:11 - Home Medical Equipment Service Providers (Effective 12/15/2019)

= 4729:11-1-01 - Definitions — home medical equipment.

= 4729:11-2-01 - Licensure, registration and renewal.

= 4729:11-2-02 - Designated representative.

= 4729:11-2-03 - Applications.

= 4729:11-2-04 - Recognized accrediting bodies. (NOTE: Does not apply to licensed HME
Service Providers)

= 4729:11-2-05 - Change in description of a HME services provider or discontinuation of
business.

= 4729:11-3-01 - Minimum standards for licensees.

= 4729:11-3-02 - Record keeping.

= 4729:11-3-03 - Inspections and corrective actions.

= 4729:11-3-04 - Continuing education.

= 4729:11-3-05 - Advertising and solicitation.

= 4729:11-4-01 - Disciplinary actions.
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Notification of a Designated Representative by December 15, 2019

Per rule 4729:11-2-02, a designated representative is responsible for compliance with all
applicable state and federal laws, regulations, and rules governing the provision of HME services.
The designated representative shall be physically present at the licensed or registered location for a
sufficient amount of time to provide supervision of the activities conducted by a HME services
provider.

ALL licensed HME service providers are required to electronically submit notification to the Board of
the licensee’s designated representative no later than December 15, 2019. The notification
form and instructions are available by visiting: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/DR

For questions regarding this provision or any other requirements of the new rules, a HME service
provider should submit question via the Board’s contact page:
https://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Contact.aspx. Be sure to select "Home Medical Equipment
Service Provider Information” as the subject.

Required Notifications or Document Submissions

Board of Pharmacy rules require the following notifications to the Board:

Notification/Submission How to Submit Timeframe for
Requirement Submission
Change of designated Form and instructions are available Within ten days of the
representative. here: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/DR effective date of the
(OAC 4729:11-2-02) appointment of the new
designated
representative
Any change in ownership, Instructions are available here. The new application and
business or trade name, required fee shall be
category, or address requires submitted within thirty
a new application, required days of any change in
fee, and license or certificate the ownership, business
of registration. or trade name,
(OAC 4729:11-2-05) category, or address.
Off-site storage of required Form and instructions are available Prior to records being
records. Only applies to in- here: moved off-site (for new
state licensee or registrant. www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/HMErecords | licensees/registrants).

(OAC 4729:11-3-02)
For existing HME
service providers, the
form should be
submitted no later than
12/15/2019.
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Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)

Upon inspection, Board staff may ask to review patient records to determine compliance with Ohio
laws and rules. To address concerns regarding compliance with HIPAA, the Board has developed
the following FAQ to assist licensees.

What is HIPAA?

HIPAA is a federal privacy rule created to protect individuals’ medical records and other
personal health information and applies to health plans, health care clearinghouses, and
those health care providers that conduct certain health care transactions electronically.

Why does the HIPAA privacy rule not apply to the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy?

HIPAA applies to health plans, health clearinghouses, and to any health care provider who
transmits health information in electronic form in connection with a transaction for which
the Secretary of HHS has adopted standards under HIPAA, known as “covered entities” and
to their business associates.

o The Board of Pharmacy does not fit the definition of a covered entity because:
1) The Board does not provide or pay for the cost of medical care;
2) The Board is not a health care provider; and

3) The Board does not process health information on behalf of other
organizations (billing, community health management information systems,
etc.).

In addition, the Board is not considered a “business associate” because it does not perform
activities on behalf of or provide services to a covered entity (as described in 1-3 above)
that involves the use or disclosure of identifiable health information.

Examples of a business associate include, but are not limited to, the following: third-party
administrators that assist with claims processing or a consultant that performs utilization
review for a hospital.

How can a licensee or registrant be assured the Board will protect patient information?

The Board’s confidentiality statute, ORC 4729.23, provides that any information provided to
the Board in the course of an investigation is confidential and is not a public record.

In addition, there are exemptions in Ohio’s Public Records law, that exempt medical
records/patient information from being released in response to a public record request (ORC
Section 149.43(A)(1)(a)).

For more information about the HIPAA Privacy Rule, visit: https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-
professionals/privacy/index.html
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Important Terms

= "Readily retrievable" means that records maintained by a licensee or registrant in shall
be kept in such a manner that, upon request, they can be produced for review no later than
three business days to an agent, officer or inspector of the Board.

= "“Designated representative” is responsible for compliance with all applicable state and
federal laws, regulations, and rules governing the provision of HME services. The designated
representative shall be physically present at the licensed or registered location for a
sufficient amount of time to provide supervisions of the activities conducted by a HME
services provider.

= “Home medical equipment” means equipment that can stand repeated use, is primarily
and customarily used to serve a medical purpose, is not useful to a person in the absence of
iliness or injury, is appropriate for use in the home, and is one or more of the following:

(1) Life-sustaining equipment prescribed by an authorized health care professional
that mechanically sustains, restores, or supplants a vital bodily function, such as
breathing;

(2) Technologically sophisticated medical equipment prescribed by an authorized
health care professional that requires individualized adjustment or regular
maintenance by a home medical equipment services provider to maintain a patient's
health care condition or the effectiveness of the equipment;

(3) An item specified by the state board of pharmacy in rules adopted under division
(B) of section 4752.17 of the Revised Code.

See OAC 4729:11-1-01 for references to specific types of home medical equipment.

= "Home medical equipment services" means the sale, delivery, installation,
maintenance, replacement, or demonstration of home medical equipment.

* "Home medical equipment services provider" means a person engaged in offering
home medical equipment services to the public.
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Home Medical Equipment - Inspection Guide
OAC = Ohio Administrative Code / ORC = Ohio Revised Code

Licensing, Ownership, and Designated Representative

Question

Have there been any
changes in the facility's
ownership, business name
or trade name, category, or
address without submitting
a new application to the
Board?

Description / Guidance

Any change in ownership, business or trade name, category, or
address requires a new application, required fee, and license or
certificate of registration. The new application and required fee shall
be submitted within thirty days of any change in the ownership,
business or trade name, category, or address.

For more information on what constitutes a change of ownership,
see OAC 4729:11-2-05.

Law/Rule
OAC 4729:11-2-05

Does the designated
representative match what
is indicated in eLicense?

A location licensed as a HME service provider must have a
designated representative at all times. When there is a change of
designated representative, the Board must be notified within ten
days of the effective date of the appointment of the new designated
representative. A change of designated representative form is
available on the Board's website: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/DR

OAC 4729:11-2-02

How many hours per week
does the designated
representative work at the
facility?

Licensee will be asked to provide this information.

Does the facility have the
required liability
insurance?

A licensed HME services provider shall possess product and
professional liability insurance coverage in the amount of one million
dollars per occurrence, three million dollars aggregate. The
certificate of insurance must show that the product and professional
liability insurance coverage is contained in the total aggregate
amount. Licensee will be asked to produce a certificate of insurance.

OAC 4729:11-3-01
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Personnel

Question Guidance Law/Rule
Are employee FBI/BCI For any employee that provides HME services, supervises an OAC 4729:11-3-01
criminal record checks for employee who provides HME services, or has access to records a
employees available for criminal background check shall be performed only upon initial hire
inspection? by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation
(BCI&I) and shall consist of both a BCI&I and FBI criminal records
check.

Board staff will ask to review this documentation to determine
compliance.

NOTE: The requirement is for employees to obtain FBI criminal
record checks shall not be applied retroactively to current employees
of facility.

An FBI criminal records check will only apply to new employees at
the time of hire.

Does the facility keep the Facilities are required to keep personnel files that include job OAC 4729:11-3-01
required personnel files for | description, application qualifications, orientation and training
all employees? records, verification of competence, and annual performance plan to

be completed by the licensee.

Board staff will ask to review this documentation to determine

compliance.
Does the licensee maintain | Licensed HME services providers shall provide ten contact hours of OAC 4729:11-3-04
documentation continuing education per renewal cycle for staff rendering home

demonstrating compliance | medical equipment services. Of the number of continuing education
with employee continuing contact hours required, one contact hour shall include subject
education requirements? content on infection control, equipment cleaning standards and
cleaning agents, rotation of inventory, or equipment separation
requirements.

The following are acceptable sources of continuing education:

(1) In-service education developed and taught by the licensed HME
services provider.
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Minimum Standards

Question

Does the facility have
appropriate physical space
to safely store, maintain
and service on site
equipment?

Guidance
The facility must have appropriate physical space to safely store,
maintain and service on site equipment.

A licensee shall maintain separate areas/spaces for the following:
the business office, patient records, equipment cleaning,
maintenance, and storage.

Law/Rule

OAC 4729:11-3-01

Is the facility able to
demonstrate appropriate
equipment flows through
various stages to ensure
that the equipment is
properly disinfected,
repaired, stored, and
maintained?

The facility must be able to demonstrate appropriate equipment
flows through various stages to ensure that the equipment is
properly disinfected, repaired, stored, and maintained.

Licensee will be asked to demonstrate compliance.

OAC 4729:11-3-01

Does the facility maintain
inventory to meet the
needs of the licensee's
client base?

The facility must maintain inventory on site or by arrangement with
a supplier to meet the needs of the licensee’s current client base.

Licensees will be asked for documentation demonstrating
agreements with HME suppliers or processes in place for referrals to
another HME services provider if the client’s needs are beyond the
scope of the facility.

OAC 4729:11-3-01

Does the facility maintain
and document equipment
in accordance with the
manufacturer’s guidelines?

In maintaining equipment, a licensee shall maintain and document
equipment in accordance with the manufacturer’s guidelines.

Equipment will be reviewed by Board staff to determine compliance.

OAC 4729:11-3-01
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Operations

Question

What types of HME
services does this facility
provide?

Guidance
Board staff will document the types of HME services provided by the
licensee.

NOTE: "Home medical equipment services" means the sale, delivery,
installation, maintenance, replacement, or demonstration of home
medical equipment.

Law/Rule
ORC 4752.01

How many patients does
the facility service each
month?

Licensee will be asked to provide this information.

What type of home medical
equipment does the facility
provide?

Licensee will be asked to provide this information.

NOTE: "Home medical equipment" or "HME" has the same meaning
as defined in section 4752.01 of the Revised Code. Pursuant to
paragraph (B)(3) of the Revised Code, HME shall also include the
following equipment: (1) Hospital grade pulse oximeters pursuant to
a prescription issued by a prescriber; (2) Home photo therapy (bili
lights or blankets); (3) Transcutaneous electronic nerve stimulators
(TENS), excluding devices labeled by the federal food and drug
administration for over-the-counter use and are identified with the
federal food and drug administration product code "NUH.OTC TENS";
(4) Drop foot stimulators; (5) Bone growth stimulators; (6) Vision
restoration therapy devices; and (7) In-home patient lifts.

OAC 4729:11-1-01

What types of
technologically
sophisticated equipment
does the facility provide?

Licensee will be asked to provide this information.

NOTE: "Technologically sophisticated medical equipment" has the
same meaning as defined in section 4752.01 of the Revised Code
and includes, but is not limited to, the following: (1) Oxygen
conservation devices; (2) CPAP (continuous positive airway
pressure) devices; (3) Bi-level airway pressure (BiPAP) devices; (4)
Intrapulmonary percussive ventilation (IPV) devices; (5) Intermittent
positive pressure breathing (IPPB) devices; (6) Cough-assist
mechanical in-exsuffaltor; (7) Apnea monitors; (8) Percussors for
chest physiotherapy; (9) Suction machines; (10) Feeding pumps;
(11) Infusion pumps; (12) Continuous passive motion (CPM)

OAC 4729:11-1-01
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devices; (13) Custom seating or positioning systems; (14) Custom
rehab equipment (e.g. standers & gait trainers); (15) Vacuum
assisted wound closure devices; (16) Electric wheelchairs and
custom scooters; (17) Auto-titrating airway devices; (18) Any other
technologically sophisticated medical equipment as determined by
the Board.

What types of life
sustaining equipment are
provided by the facility?

Licensee will be asked to provide this information.

NOTE: "Life sustaining equipment" has the same meaning as defined
in section 4752.01 of the Revised Code and includes the following:
(1) Ventilators; (2) Oxygen concentrators; (3) Oxygen liquid
systems; (4) Oxygen compressed gas systems; (5) Non-invasive
ventilator system (e.g. bi-level, iron lungs, rocking beds,
diaphragmatic pacers, etc.); (6) Any other life sustaining equipment
as determined by the Board.

OAC 4729:11-1-01

Does the facility have a
telephone number that is
operational twenty-four
hours a day, seven days a
week that clients can call
to seek assistance?

Facilities that provide HME services must have a telephone number
that is operational twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week that
clients can call to seek assistance. The telephone line may be a
voicemail system or an answering service that is monitored on a
regular basis by the HME provider and should also alert clients to
contact 911 in an emergency.

OAC 4729:11-1-01
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Record Keeping

Question

Are all records uniformly
maintained and readily
retrievable for inspection?

Guidance

All records maintained in accordance with this rule shall be uniformly
maintained and readily retrievable for inspection and copying by
properly identified agents, inspectors or employees of the State
Board of Pharmacy.

Law/Rule
OAC 4729:11-3-02

Does the facility maintain
all client records for the
required time period?

All client records must be maintained for three years from the date
of sale or in the case of a minor client, records must be maintained
for seven years after the client turns eighteen years of age.

Board staff will review records to determine compliance.

OAC 4729:11-3-02

Do all client records
contain a physician order if
required?

All client records must contain a prescriber order, if required, and
documentation of settings and other data relevant to the equipment
that has been sold or leased, and other documentation regarding
service checks of the equipment sold or rented to the client.

OAC 4729:11-3-02

Does the HME services
provider maintain required
records off-site?

A HME services provider located in this state intending to maintain
records at a location other than the location licensed by the State
Board of Pharmacy shall notify the board in a manner determined by
the Board. Any such alternate location shall be secured and
accessible only to authorized representatives or contractors of the
licensee.

An off-site records storage notification form is available by visiting:
www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/HMErecords

A HME services provider maintaining records at location other than
the location licensed by the State Board of Pharmacy shall maintain
an executed agreement with the company possessing or storing the
records authorizing an agent of the Board access to the records
maintained in accordance with this rule within three business days.

If yes, Board staff will ask to review an executed agreement.

OAC 4729:11-3-02

Are records electronically
created and maintained?

A HME service provider maintaining records via a computerized
record keeping system shall maintain an executed agreement with
the company possessing or storing the records authorizing an agent

OAC 4729:11-3-02
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Advertising

Question
Does the licensee advertise
or solicit for patronage?

Guidance

Any advertisement or solicitation which offers HME services on a
gratuitous basis shall include a disclaimer. If the advertisement is
visual, the disclaimer shall be contained therein. If the
advertisement is audio-based, the disclaimer shall be read. A written
copy of the disclaimer shall be provided to every patient who
responds to an offer, prior to the rendering of patient care.

The disclaimer must clearly state:

(1) Any exclusions, prohibitions, restrictions, limitations, conditions,
or eligibility requirements which apply to the offer; and

(2) Any additional services, which are associated with the offer, that
are rendered on the same day but are not provided free of charge.

All advertisements and solicitations must include the name of the
licensee.

Board staff will review advertisements to determine compliance.

Law/Rule

OAC 4729:11-3-05

Does the licensee use
testimonials to advertise
HME services?

A licensee may utilize testimonials in advertising if the patient giving
the testimonial has given written consent as to the exact wording
and proposed use of the testimonial. A copy of such consent and
testimonial shall be retained by the licensed HME service provider for
two years from the last date of publication.

If yes, Board staff will ask the licensee to document patient consent.

OAC 4729:11-3-05
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