

OHIO LICENSURE OF FOREIGN PHARMACY GRADUATES

UPDATED 7/16/2018

PURSUANT TO 4729.08 ORC, A FOREIGN PHARMACY GRADUATE SEEKING PHARMACIST LICENSURE IN OHIO SHALL:

- (I) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
- (II) Be of good moral character and habits.
- (III) <u>Possess</u> a Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination (FPGEE) Certificate for successfully passing the FPGEE, and have successfully passed either the Test of Spoken English (TSE) or the Test of English as a Foreign Language-Internet-based test (TOEFL-ibt) (4729-5-34 OAC).

Exception: Graduates of Canadian schools of pharmacy between 1993 and June 2004 do not need to pass the FPGEE or the TSE, but they must submit an Official Letter of Graduation from the Canadian school of pharmacy.

For information about taking the FPGEE, TSE, or TOEFL-ibt, contact the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) at <u>www.nabp.net</u> or call 847/391-4406.

- (IV) Have satisfactorily completed at least 1,740 hours of approved internship after having successfully passed the FPGEE and the TSE or TOEFL-ibt and received the FPGEE certificate.
 - (a) If the internship is obtained in Ohio, the applicant must be licensed as an Ohio pharmacy intern and he/she must meet all other requirements of pharmacy internship as outlined in Chapter 4729-3 of the Ohio Administrative Code.
 - (b) If the internship is obtained in another state, the applicant must comply with the laws and rules of that state regarding pharmacy internship. The applicant must have the state Board of Pharmacy of the state where the 1500 hours of internship was completed to submit official verification of the internship directly to the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy.
 - (c) If the applicant is applying for reciprocity and the reciprocating state requires less than 1,500 hours of approved internship, the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy may grant internship credit for practice as a pharmacist.

77 South High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215



- (d) If the applicant is a graduate of a Canadian school of pharmacy, up to 500 hours of internship credit may be approved with evidence of internship verified by the provincial licensing agency.
- (V) (a) Pass the Licensure Examinations required by the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy; OR

(b) Hold an active license to practice pharmacy which is in good standing and was obtained by examination in a state in which the credentials are at least the equivalent of those then required by the Ohio Board and personally appear before the Ohio Board within six months of the date that the Official Application for Transfer of Pharmacist Licensure is filed with the Board. California pharmacists who successfully completed NAPLEX after January 1, 2004, are eligible for licensure in Ohio by reciprocity. Florida pharmacists who successfully completed NAPLEX after June 26, 1979, are eligible for licensure in Ohio by reciprocity. (4729.09 ORC)

ALL APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE TO PRACTICE PHARMACY IN OHIO MUST BE MADE UNDER OATH BEFORE A QUALIFIED OFFICER. It is a Misdemeanor of the First Degree for any person to make a false statement under oath for the purpose of securing licensure for him/herself or for another person. Certificates of Licensure obtained by fraud or upon false representation may be revoked by the Board.

Criminal Background Checks

Pursuant to 4729.071 and 4776.02 of the Ohio Revised Code, the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy may not issue an initial license to practice pharmacy until the applicant has submitted a request to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI & I) for a criminal records check of the applicant. The records check must also include a request for information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The results of criminal records checks are not public records and shall not be made available to any person other than the licensing agency and the applicant or their representative (4776.04 ORC).

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy Licensure Examinations

The licensure exams are computerized and consist of the "NAPLEX" (North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination) and the "MPJE" (Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination). For information regarding NAPLEX and MPJE, go to the NABP website (www.nabp.net) and click on either "Applications" or "Examination Programs." You will find links to FAQ documents and the "Registration Bulletin" on the right side of the page. The Drug Laws of Ohio may be purchased directly from the publisher, West, at 1-800-328-9352.

The minimum passing score for the NAPLEX is seventy-five (75). The minimum passing score for the MPJE is seventy-five (75). Any candidate failing to obtain a score of seventy-five (75) on either examination will be required to repeat the examination.

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy participates in NABP's Score Transfer program for NAPLEX scores. MPJE scores are NOT transferable (see the "NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin" on the NABP Web site).

PROCEDURES FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

- (A) Candidates must complete and submit (with required attachments) the "Application For Examination As A Pharmacist" for Ohio. The application form is available on the Board's web site or may be obtained at each of the Ohio colleges of pharmacy offices.
- (B) Candidates must apply online with NABP at www.nabp.net and pay the required fees to register for NAPLEX and MPJE. For additional important exam information please print and review the FAQ section or the "NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin" located on NABP's web site (www.nabp.net).
- (C) Once the Board office determines that a candidate is qualified to sit for the Licensure Examination in Ohio and certifies that candidate to NABP, the candidate will be sent an "Authorization to Test" (ATT) from the testing center.
- (D) The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy will mail the results to the candidate <u>only</u> <u>after</u> receiving <u>BOTH</u> the NAPLEX and MPJE scores from NABP and the Criminal Records Check from BCI & I.

NOTE: <u>Examination scores will NOT be mailed separately or be given over</u> <u>the telephone</u>.

- (E) If an applicant fails the licensure examination, he/she will receive notice to that effect. Those taking one or both of the examinations again MUST file the application forms and pay the required fees AGAIN. Affidavits for internship experience and the Certificate of Pharmacy Education need not be submitted for subsequent exam(s).
- (F) Candidates who fail must wait a minimum of ninety-one days to retake the NAPLEX and a minimum of thirty days to retake the MPJE per NABP policy. This waiting period begins from the date the exam is taken, not the date scores are mailed by the Board or received by the candidate.

PROCEDURES FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY

(A) The reciprocity process starts by going to the NABP website (*www.nabp.net*) and clicking on "Licensure Programs." Select "Licensure Transfer" from the drop-down menu.

- (B) Once NABP has completed the processing of the Preliminary Application, NABP will forward an *Official Application for Transfer of Pharmacist Licensure* to the applicant.
 - (1) Upon receipt of the official application, the applicant should complete it, which includes notarization of the signature, two photographs, moral character voucher, and submission of the Official Application form to the state of licensure by examination for certification. The completed Official Application should then be sent to the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy with the required fee of \$337.50 made payable to the "Treasurer, State of Ohio."
 - (2) If the applicant wishes to withdraw the Official Application from consideration, the Board office must receive a <u>written</u> request (must include the applicant's Social Security Number for processing purposes) within six months of the date the Application is filed with the Board to receive a fifty per cent refund of the fee remitted.
- (C) If the Board determines that the application is complete and the applicant qualifies for licensure as an Ohio pharmacist by reciprocity, the applicant receives a letter to appear at the next scheduled Reciprocity Hearing.
 - (1) In order to complete licensure by reciprocity, the applicant must <u>personally</u> <u>appear</u> before the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy at a Reciprocity Hearing within the six-month time limitation. The applicant must confirm either verbally or in writing with the Board office, no later than two working days before the Hearing, the applicant's attendance at the Hearing.
 - (2) If the applicant cancels or postpones to the next Hearing, it will be the applicant's responsibility to contact the Board office to arrange for attendance at a Reciprocity Hearing within six months of the date that the Application was filed with the Board. Reciprocity Hearings are held during each regularly scheduled Board meeting.
 - (3) A candidate who does not appear before the Board within the six-month period must file a new application and fee for licensure by reciprocity.
 - (4) A candidate must go to an approved Web Check (BCI & FBI) provider agency to provide fingerprints electronically for a criminal records check. This must be done in Ohio and can be done on the day of or before the day of the Reciprocity Hearing.
- (D) The applicant will also receive, with the letter scheduling him/her to appear at the Reciprocity Hearing, a document entitled, "Selected Points Regarding The Legal Practice of Pharmacy in Ohio" to study and prepare for discussion with the State of
- (E) Ohio Board of Pharmacy staff during the Reciprocity Hearing. Ohio, at this time, does not require reciprocity applicants to take the MPJE. Questions regarding "Selected Points Regarding The Legal Practice of Pharmacy in Ohio" are answered and/or clarifications given at the Hearing.
- (F) The license (pocket identification card) to practice pharmacy in the state of Ohio will be emailed to the reciprocity applicant once the results of the Criminal Records Request have been received and approved in the Board office. The Certificate of Licensure (wall certificate) is mailed when it is received from the printer. Processing time is approximately six to eight weeks.

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE AS A PHARMACIST IN OHIO UNLESS YOU <u>HOLD</u> A CURRENT OHIO LICENSE TO PRACTICE. It is a Misdemeanor of the Third Degree to practice pharmacy in Ohio without a current Ohio license (identification card). A monetary penalty of \$500.00 may be imposed by the Board for each <u>day</u> of practice without a license, and a person may also be imprisoned for not more than 60 days for each day's violation.